UT-Austin Data Mining Seminar Series

Fall 2001

Mailing List


Presentation schedule:

Date & Time Location Speaker Title Slides/Papers

Fri. Nov. 2 @ 11 am

ACES 6.304 Oren Etzioni
University of Washington - Seattle
Adaptive Web Sites Abstract


Tentative Future Schedule:

Date & Time Location Speaker Title Slides/Papers

To be scheduled

ACES 2.302 Andrew McCallum
Carnegie Mellon University
To be announced Abstract
To be scheduled ACES 2.302 Inderjit Dhillon
University of Texas - Austin
To be announced Abstract


Past Speakers:

Date & Time Location Speaker Title Slides/Papers

Fri. Oct. 26, 2001 @ 10:30a

ACES 2.402 Foster Provost
New York University
Reviving the Learning Curve: A critical study of machine learning performance Abstract

Fri. Oct. 5,   2001 @ 11 am

ACES 2.302 Sridhar Rajagopalan
IBM Almaden Research Center
Three applications of data mining principles Abstract

Fri, Sept 21, 2001 @ 11 am

ACES 2.302 Joseph Sirosh
HNC Software Inc.
Unit Vector Representations of Unstructured Information Abstract

Fri, Apr 27, 2001 @ 11 am

ACES 2.302 Daniel Boley
University of Minnesota
A Scalable Hierarchical Algorithm for Unsupervised Clustering Abstract

Fri, Apr 20, 2001 @ 11 am

ACES 2.302 David Scott
Rice University
Nonparametric Clustering for Data Mining Abstract

Fri, Apr 13, 2001 @ 11 am

ACES 2.302 Ed George
University of Texas - Austin
Bayesian Treed Modeling Abstract

Fri, Mar 30, 2001 @ 11 am

ACES 2.302 Gautam Das
Microsoft Research
A Robust, Optimization-Based Approach for Approximate Answering of Aggregate Queries Abstract

Fri, Mar 23, 2001 @ 11 am

ACES 2.302 Joydeep Ghosh
University of Texas - Austin
Graphical Techniques for Efficient and Balanced Clustering of Very High-Dimensional Data Abstract
Powerpoint Slides
Fri, Feb 09, 2001 @ 11 am ACES 2.302 Tom Mitchell
Carnegie Mellon University
and WhizBang! Labs
Machine Learning and Extracting Information from the Web Abstract
Fri, Nov 17, 2000 @ 11am ACES 2.302 Prabhakar Raghavan
Verity and Stanford University

Networks and Sub-Networks in the World-Wide Web
Meeting Signup Schedule

Abstract
Fri, Nov 10, 2000 @ 11am ACES 2.302 Jerry Friedman
Stanford University
Predictive Data Mining with Multiple Additive Regression Trees Abstract
Thurs, Nov 9, 2000 @ 11am ACES 2.302 Nick Street
University of Iowa
Feature Selection in Unsupervised Learning via Multi-Objective Evolutionary Search Abstract
Fri, Oct 27, 2000 @ 11am ACES 2.302 Raymond Mooney
University of Texas - Austin
Text Mining with Information Extraction Abstract
Fri, Oct 13, 2000 @ 11am ACES 2.302 Raghu Ramakrishnan
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Exploratory Analysis of Large Datasets Abstract
Fri, Sept 29, 2000 @ 11am ACES 2.302 Jaideep Srivastava
University of Minnesota and Yodlee.com
Web Mining: A Challenging Frontier for Data Mining Abstract
Powerpoint Slides
Mon, Sept 25, 2000 @ 1pm ACES 2.302 Peter Haas
IBM Almaden Research Center
Techniques for Online Exploration of Large Object-Relational Databases Abstract
Fri, Aug 4,   2000 @ 3pm Taylor Hall 3.128 Jude Shavlik
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Using Diverse Evidence Sources to Uncover Coordinately Controlled Genes via Machine Learning and Dynamic Programming Abstract
Thurs, Aug 3, 2000 @ 3pm Taylor Hall 3.128 Haym Hirsh
Rutgers University
Integrating Multiple Sources of Information in Text Classification Abstract
Wed, Apr 5, 2000 @ 4pm Taylor Hall 2.106 Dharmendra S. Modha
IBM Almaden Research Center
Clustering Hypertext with Applications to Web Searching Abstract

 


Information:


Organization

Comments? Need to schedule a seminar? Contact Inderjit Dhillon, Joydeep Ghosh, Ray Mooney, or Lynn Stokes.

This seminar series is organized with financial support from Tivoli.

See the Data Mining activities at UT Austin.


Last modified by hyukcho@cs.utexas.edu
Updated 10 Sept., 2001 7:05 PM