Home CS398T



CS398T: Supervised Teaching in Computer Science

Dr. Alison N. Norman
Dr. William Cook

Schedule for Fall 2019

This schedule, and the links contained in it, are subject to change during the semester.


 Date

 

Topic

Assignment
(to be completed before class)


Thu Aug 29 Course Overview

Tue Sep 3 Teaching a Course
How to Present and Represent
Sign up to observe an undergraduate class
(Fill out the Class Observation Form when you attend!)
Wed Sep 4 How to Be a Good TA
7p-9p in GDC 1.304
Thu Sep 5 Research Talks

Tue Sep 10 Lecture Observation Discussion
and CNS Career Development Presentation by Po-Tsan Ku
Lecture Observation completed
Bring the Class Observation Form to class.
Thu Sep 12 Research Talks Micro-teaching Assignment Posted
Sign up to observe a discussion section
(Fill out the Class Observation Form when you attend!)

Tue Sep 17 Research Talks
Wed Sep 18 Preparation, Assessment, and Human Messiness
7p-9p in JGB 2.324
Discussion Section Observation completed
and Canvas Module completed
Bring the Class Observation Form to class.
Thu Sep 19 Research Talks Micro-teaching topics due

Tue/Thu Sep 24/Sep 26 Research Talks

Tue/Thu Oct 1/Oct 3 Research Talks

Tue/Thu Oct 8/Oct 10 Research Talks

Tue Oct 15 Research Talks
Thu Oct 17 Micro-teaching Presentations

Tue Oct 22 Universal Design for Learning workshop led by Adria Battaglia from the Faculty Innovation Center
Thu Oct 24 Micro-teaching Presentations

Tue Oct 29 Micro-teaching Presentations and
Experienced TA/AI Panel
Thu Oct 31 Micro-teaching Presentations

Tue Nov 5 Cameron Craddock's Research Talk and Micro-teaching Presentations
Thu Nov 7 Micro-teaching Presentations

Tue Nov 12 Warren Hunt's Research Talk and Micro-teaching Presentations
Thu Nov 14 No class

Tue Nov 19 Micro-teaching Presentations
Thu Nov 21 Micro-teaching Presentations and
Teaching Miscellany

Identify advisor for next semester and perform independent study with them

Thu Dec 5 Conference Course form for Spring 2020 due to Katie Dahm in GDC 2.728