Home CS439



CS439 Principles of Computer Systems

Dr. Alison N. Norman

Schedule for Spring 2015

This schedule, and the links contained in it, are subject to change during the semester. Exam dates, however, are final.

Reading assignments are from one of the required textbooks:

Additonal readings are linked from the schedule. All reading assignments are required.


 Date

 

Topic

Assignment
(to be completed before class)


Wed Jan 21 Introduction & Themes Reading: B&O: Ch1
(Yes, I know it is review!)
Fri Jan 23 No Discussion Sections

Mon Jan 26 History of Operating Systems
and Dual Mode Execution
Reading: B&O: 8-8.1
Wed Jan 28 Processes Reading: B&O: 8.2-8.8
Project 0 available
Fri Jan 30 HW1 due 8:45am

Mon Feb 2 CPU Scheduling Reading: OSTEP: CPU Scheduling
Wed Feb 4 Threads and Too Much Milk! Reading: B&O: 12.3-12.4
MH: 4.2
Fri Feb 6 HW2 due 8:45am

Mon Feb 9 Synchronization (I) Reading: B&O: 12.5-12.8
MH: 4.3
Project 1 available
Wed Feb 11 Synchronization (II)
Readers/Writers, Fall 2014 10a lecture
Readers/Writers, Fall 2014 2p lecture
Reading: OSTEP: Monitors
Fri Feb 13 HW3 due 8:45am
Project 0 due 11:59pm

Mon Feb 16 Deadlock and Advanced Synchronization
Pemberley Solution
Reading: MH: Chapter 5
OSTEP: Common Concurrency Problems, pages 1-10 (stop at "Deadlock Avoidance via Scheduling")
Wed Feb 18 More Synchronization (1) Read the Therac-25 paper, following these tips.
If you are off-campus, this link through the UT libraries Web proxy may be useful.
(2) While you are reading, view these two helpful graphics, which nicely illustrate
linear accelerators and problems that they have caused.
(3) Read this New York Times article and at least the first two pages of this one
(make sure you see the pictures).
Fri Feb 20 HW4 due 8:45am

Mon Feb 23 In-class exam review
Wed Feb 25 Exam 1
7p-9p in UTC 2.112A
Fri Feb 27 No Discussion Sections Project 1 due 11:59pm
Project 2 available

Mon Mar 2 Memory: Overview Reading: OSTEP: Address Spaces and
Mechanism: Address Translation
Wed Mar 4 Virtual Memory I Reading: B&O 9.3-9.6
Fri Mar 6 HW5 due 8:45am

Mon Mar 9 Virtual Memory II Reading: B&O: 9.7-9.8
MH: 6.4
Project 2 Stack Check Due
Wed Mar 11 Heap Memory Management Reading: B&O: 9.9-9.12
OSTEP: Interlude: Memory API
Project 3 available
Fri Mar 13 HW6 due 8:45am

Mon-Fri Mar 16-Mar 20 Spring Break!

Mon Mar 23 More Heap Memory Management and
Virtual Memory Review

Virtual Memory In-Class Problem and Solutions
Wed Mar 25 I/O and Disks
Mob Boss Polling
Mob Boss Interrupts and DMA
Reading: B&0: 6-6.2
Fri Mar 27 HW7 due 8:45am
Project 2 due 11:59pm

Mon Mar 30 File System Fundamentals:
Use, API, and Implementation (I)
Reading: OSTEP: Interlude: Files and Directories and
File System Implementation
Wed Apr 1 File System Design and Consistency Reading: MH: 8.3-8.6
OSTEP: Locality and The Fast File System
Fri Apr 3 HW8 due 8:45am

Mon Apr 6 File System Consistency and
In-class exam review
Reading: OSTEP: Crash Consistency: FSCK and Journaling
Basic RAID Notions
Wed Apr 8 Exam 2
7p-9p in UTC 2.112A
Fri Apr 10 No Discussion Sections

Mon Apr 13 Introduction to Networks Reading: B&O: Ch11
Congestion Avoidance and Control and
Saltzer and Kaashoek Ch7 (read 6, 9)
Wed Apr 15 Accessing the Network from User Code
(Sockets and RPC)
Reading: MH: 10.3
Fri Apr 17 HW9 due 8:45am
Project 4 available
Project 3 due 11:59pm

Mon Apr 20 Parallel and Distributed Computing
(with Distributed Commit)

9a Happened Before Example
12p Happened Before Example
Reading: Ch 7-7.4, "Concurrency Control in Database Systems",
      by Bernstein, Hadzilacos, Goodman
Wed Apr 22 Other File Systems Reading: NFS
The Google File System
Fri Apr 24 HW10 due 8:45am

Mon Apr 27 Deadlock Revisited Reading: Deadlock Notes
from Dr. John T. Bell at University of Illinois, Chicago
Wed Apr 29 The Security Mindset Reading: MH: Chapter 11
Why Cryptosystems Fail
Fri May 1 HW11 due 8:45am

Mon May 4 Something Different
Wed May 6 Putting It All Together
Fri May 8 No Discussion Sections
TAs available for help and review (see Piazza for locations).
Project 4 due 11:59pm
No slip days!

Final Exam on Thursday, 5/14, at 7p in UTC 2.102A