Home CS439



CS439 Principles of Computer Systems

Dr. Alison N. Norman

Schedule for Spring 2014

This schedule, and the links contained in it, are subject to change during the semester. Exam dates, however, are final.

Reading assignments are from one of the required textbooks:



 Date

 

Topic

Assignment


Mon Jan 13 Introduction & Themes Reading: B&O: Ch1
Wed Jan 15 History of Operating Systems
and Dual Mode Execution
Reading: B&O: 8-8.1
Fri Jan 17 No Discussion Sections

Wed Jan 22 Processes Reading: B&O: 8.2-8.8
Project 0 available
Fri Jan 24 HW1 due 8:45am

Mon Jan 27 CPU Scheduling and Threads Reading: B&O: 12.3-12.4
Optional Reading (CPU Scheduling): MH: 3.2-3.6
Wed Jan 29 Too Much Milk! Reading: MH: 4.2-4.3.1
UT: 1-1.2
Fri Jan 31 HW2 due 8:45am

Mon Feb 3 Synchronization (I) Reading: B&O: 12.5-12.8
UT: 1.3
Optional Reading: MH: 4.6
Project 1 available
Wed Feb 5 Synchronization (II)
Readers/Writers, 9a lecture
Readers/Writers, 11a lecture
Reading: MH: 4.3.2-4.5
UT: 1.4
Fri Feb 7 HW3 due 8:45am
Project 0 due 11:59pm

Mon Feb 10 Deadlock and Advanced Synchronization
Reading: MH: 4.7-4.8
UT: 2.6-2.11
Wed Feb 12 More Synchronization (1) Read the Therac-25 paper, following these tips.
If you are off-campus, this link through the UT libraries Web proxy may be useful.
(2) While you are reading, view these two helpful graphics, which nicely illustrate
linear accelerators and problems that they have caused.
(3) Read this New York Times article and at least the first two pages of this one
(make sure you see the pictures).
Fri Feb 14 HW4 due 8:45am

Mon Feb 17 In-class exam review
Pemberley Solution
Wed Feb 19 Exam 1 7p-9p in WEL 1.316
Fri Feb 21 No Discussion Sections Project 1 due 11:59pm
Project 2 available

Mon Feb 24 Memory: Overview Reading: B&O: 9.1-9.2
Wed Feb 26 Virtual Memory I Reading: B&O 9.3-9.6
UT: 3-3.1
Fri Feb 28 HW5 due 8:45am

Mon Mar 3 Virtual Memory II Reading: B&O: 9.7-9.8
MH: 6.4
UT: 3.2-3.6
Project 2 Stack Check Due
Wed Mar 5 Heap Memory Management Reading: B&O: 9.9-9.12
Project 3 available
Fri Mar 7 HW6 due 8:45am

Spring Break

Mon Mar 17 More Heap Memory Management
Wed Mar 19 I/O and Disks
Mob Boss Polling
Mob Boss Interrupts and DMA
Reading: B&0: 6-6.2
MH: 8-8.2
Fri Mar 21 HW7 due 8:45am
Project 2 due 11:59pm

Mon Mar 24 File System Fundamentals:
Use, API, and Implementation (I)
Reading: B&O: Chapter 10
MH: Chapter 8.3-8.6
Wed Mar 26 File System Fundamentals:
Use, API, and Implementation (II)
Reading: UT: Chapter 4
Fri Mar 28 HW8 due 8:45am

Mon Mar 31 File System Types and Consistency
In-class exam review
Reading: MH: 8.7-8.9, Chapter 5
Optional Reading: The Transaction Concept (Gray)
Wed Apr 2 Exam 2 7p-9p in WEL 2.224
Fri Apr 4 No Discussion Sections

Mon Apr 7 Introduction to Networks Reading: B&O: Ch11
Congestion Avoidance and Control and
Saltzer and Kaashoek Ch7 (read 6, 9)
Wed Apr 9 Something Different
Fri Apr 11 HW9 due 8:45am
Project 4 available
Project 3 due 11:59pm

Mon Apr 14 Accessing the Network from User Code
(Sockets and RPC)
Reading: MH: 10.3
Wed Apr 16 Parallel and Distributed Computing
(with Distributed Commit)

Reading: UT: 1.5
Ch7-7.4, "Concurrency Control in Database Systems",
      by Bernstein, Hadzilacos, Goodman
MapReduce
Fri Apr 18 HW10 due 8:45am

Mon Apr 21 Other File Systems Reading: NFS
The Google File System
Wed Apr 23 Deadlock Revisited Reading: UT: Chapter 2
Fri Apr 25 HW11 due 8:45am

Mon Apr 27 The Security Mindset Reading: MH: Chapter 11
Why Cryptosystems Fail
Wed Apr 29 Putting It All Together
In class exam review
Fri May 2 No Discussion Sections
TAs available for help and review (see Piazza for locations).
Project 4 due 11:59pm
No slip days!

Thu May 8 Final Exam 9a-12p in WCH 1.120