Summer Discovery
Introduction to Computer Programming in Python
MTWTh 1:00-3:00 pm
Summer 2017 Classes
CS 313E
Summer Discovery

Other useful links
Get Python
Turtle Graphics in Python
Unicode
ASCII (Wikipedia)
CodingBat

office location: GDC 4.308
Office Phone:   (512) 471-7021
email:   bulko@cs.utexas.edu
fax:   (512) 471-8885


Syllabus: Python.Syllabus.Summer17.pdf

Summer Discovery Python Schedule (Summer 2017)

Disclaimer: This schedule is a working document. It is here for reference only, and I will update it as the course progresses.

Wk Day Dates Topics Homework
1 1 Mon, June 26 Week 1 Powerpoint Charts
Morning:
    Introduction
    What is a Computer?
Afternoon:
    Introduction to Python
HW1 assigned
2 Tue, June 27 Morning:
    Arithmetic Expressions
Afternoon:
    Variables; Assignment
HW2 assigned
3 Wed, June 28 Morning:
    Data Types; input Function
    Bowling average code
Afternoon:
    Built-in Functions; import
    String formatting code
study for test
4 Thu, June 29 Morning:
    Booleans and Conditionals
Afternoon:
    Exam 1
HW3 assigned
2 5 Mon, July 3 Week 2 Powerpoint Charts
Morning:
    Loops
Afternoon:
    Loops (cont.)
    Powers of 2 and 3 code
HW4 assigned
Tue, July 4     INDEPENDENCE DAY
    NO CLASSES TODAY
6 Wed, July 5 Morning:
    Functions
    Factorial code
Afternoon:
    String Manipulation
study for test
7 Thu, July 6 Morning:
    Lists
    List code
Afternoon:
    Exam 2
HW5 assigned
3 8 Mon, July 10 Week 3 Powerpoint Charts
Morning:
    Recursion
Afternoon:
    Recursion (cont.)
    Print Reverse code
    List Comprehension code
    Factorial code
    Fibonacci code
HW6 assigned
9 Tue, July 11 Morning:
    Random Numbers
     ListSum code
     Sum of Digits code
     Alice and Bob code
Afternoon:
    Random Numbers (cont.)
HW7 assigned
10 Wed, July 12 Morning:
    File I/O
     Craps code
     Craps Flowchart
Afternoon:
    File I/O (cont.)
     File I/O 1
     File I/O 2
     names.txt
study for test
11 Thursday, July 13 Morning:
    Turtle Graphics
     File Write code
     Turtle Graphics code
Afternoon:
    Exam 3