University of Texas masthead
GRACS Header

Fall Foosball Tournament: 2011

The Setup

The tournament is a bit unorthodox this year due to the limited amount of time and the odd number of teams. The semi-finals will be a round sort of like double elimination. Each team must play two matches and the top two or three teams will meet for the finals. The score will be the tie-break in case there is a 5-way tie for first or a 3-way tie for second.

The Teams

  • Samuel Barrett and Todd Hester
  • Satheesh Kumar Ravindranath and Siddharth Subramanian
  • Manos Kapritsos and Edmund Wong
  • Hemanth Kumar Mantri and Anil Attuluri
  • Girish Malkarnenkar and Vinodh Kumar

The Matches

October 25, 2011

The two teams to make it to the finals were last year's reigning champions, Sam Barrett and Todd Hester, versus Manos Kapritsos and Edmund Wong. There is now a new pair of champions - congratulations Mansos and Ed!

October 14, 2011

The reigning champions, Sam Barrett and Todd Hester played their first match against Vinodh Kumar and Girish Malkarnenkar. They won with a score of 10-4, 10-1. Less than halfway through the scheduled matches but it's becoming clear that some people play more foosball than others...

October 7, 2011

The players were met on the Foosball field, four walked in, only two walked out. Manos Kapritsos and Edmund Wong battled Hemanth Mantri and Anil Attuluri and won a best out of three with a convincing score of 10-5, 10-2. But it's not over for either team...

GRACS • c/o Department of Computer Science • The University of Texas at Austin
2317 Speedway, Stop D9500 • Austin, TX 78712-1757
512-471-7316 • Fax: 512-471-8885