Abstract Submission: May 9

Paper Submission: May 20

Author Notification: July 13

Final Version: August 10

Conference: October 22 - 25


FMCAD 2012 is the twelfth in a series of conferences on the theory and application of formal methods in hardware and system design and verification. FMCAD provides a leading international forum to researchers and practitioners in academia and industry for presenting and discussing novel methods, technologies, theoretical results, and tools for formal reasoning about computing systems, as well as open challenges therein.

A selection of papers will be invited to a special issue of Formal Methods in System Design.


Advances in model checking, theorem proving, equivalence checking, abstraction and reduction techniques, compositional methods, automatic decision procedures at the bit- and word-level, probabilistic methods, and combinations of deductive methods and decision procedures. Topics related to the application of formal and semi-formal methods to functional and non-functional specification and validation of hardware and software. This includes timing and power modeling, and verification of computing systems on all levels of abstraction. System-level design and verification, especially for embedded systems, HW/SW co-design and verification, and transaction-level verification. Modeling and specification languages, formal semantics of known languages or their subsets, model-based design, design derivation and transformation, and correct-by-construction methods. Experience with the application of formal and semi-formal methods to industrial-scale designs. Tools that represent formal verification enablement, new features, or a substantial improvement in the automation of formal methods. Application of formal methods in new areas.


Submissions must be made electronically in PDF format via EasyChair ( The proceedings will be freely available from the FMCAD Web site. We expect to have ACM In-Cooperation Status and IEEE Technical Co-Sponsorship, as has been the case with previous FMCAD conferences. FMCAD and authors will share the copyright for accepted papers and we plan on publishing the proceedings in the ACM Digital Library and in IEEE Xplore. Two categories of papers can be submitted: regular papers (8 pages), containing original research; and short papers (4 pages), containing emerging results, practical experiences or original ideas that can be described succinctly. Regular and short papers must use the IEEE Transactions format on letter-size paper with a 10-point font size, see recommend that self-citations be written in the third person. Submissions must contain original research that has not been previously published,
nor concurrently submitted for publication. Any partial overlap with any published or concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated. If experimental results are reported, authors are strongly encouraged to provide adequate access to their data so that results can be independently verified. A small number of accepted papers will be considered for a distinguished paper award.


The Hardware Model Checking Competition 2012 (HWMCC2012) will take place during FMCAD 2012.


Gianpiero Cabodi, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Satnam Singh, Google, USA


Samin Ishtiaq, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK


Stefano Quer, Politecnico di Torino, Italy


Slava Bulach, Robert Bosch GmbH, Germany
Fahim Rahim, Atrenta Grenoble, France


Rolf Drechsler, University of Bremen, Germany


Jason Baumgartner, IBM, USA
Aarti Gupta, NEC Labs America, USA
Warren Hunt, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Panagiotis Manolios, Northeastern University, USA
Mary Sheeran, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden


Armin Biere
Per Bjesse
Roderick Bloem
Gianpiero Cabodi
Alessandro Cimatti
Byron Cook
Bruno Dutertre
Steven German
Mark Greenstreet
Aarti Gupta
Youssef Hamadi
Alan Hu
Warren Hunt
Barbara Jobstmann
Kevin Jones
Daniel Kroening
Thomas Kropf
Joao Marques-Silva
Arie Matsliah
Ken Mcmillan
Tom Melham
John O'Leary
Lee Pike
Sandip Ray
Julien Schmaltz
Natasha Sharygina
Mary Sheeran
Satnam Singh
Anna Slobodova
Fabio Somenzi
Sudarshan Srinivasan
Murali Talupur
Helmut Veith
Thomas Wahl
Marcus Wedler