Membernet Home

ACM HomeMemberNet Home



go shopping


view full issue

Volume 4, Issue 3
July 2005

MemberNet Home

View Full Issue




MemberNet Archives

May 2005

March 2005

January 2005


More About MemberNet

Upcoming Conferences

July 31-August 4:
SIGGRAPH '05 32nd Intl. Conference on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques

August 21-24:
KDD '05 11th ACM SIGKDD Intl. Conference on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining

August 22-26:
SIGCOMM '05 Conference of ACM's Special Interest Group on Data Communication

August 28 - September 2:
MOBICOM '05 11th Intl. Conference on Mobile Computing and Networking

October 9 - 12:
ASSETS '05 7th Intl. ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility

ACM Events Honor Computing's Top Achievers

The Bay Area was the scene of this year's ACM Awards celebrations. In addition to the gala banquet at San Francisco's Palace Hotel honoring all winners, a historic, first-time reception for the winners of the Turing Award (widely known as the Nobel Prize of computing) was held at the Computer History Museum, where nine laureates joined their colleagues.

Turing Award Reception at the Computer History Museum

Turing Award winners past and present: Butler Lampson (1992), Alan Kay (2003), Ed Feigenbaum (1994), Vint Cerf, Bob Kahn (2004), Doug Engelbart (1997), Donald Knuth (1974), Raj Reddy (1994)

ARPANET pioneers Leonard Kleinrock and Larry Roberts with Ed Feigenbaum and Bob Kahn

Alan Kay, Donald Knuth, Robert Tarjan (Turing Award winner, 1986)

ACM Awards Banquet at the Palace Hotel, San Francisco

ACM CEO John White, David Tennenhouse, Vice President, Corporate Technology Group and Director of Research for Intel, Bob Kahn, Vint Cerf, and ACM President Dave Patterson

Gordon Bell, ACM Fellow and Senior Researcher at Microsoft Media Presence Research Group, Gabriel (Gabby) Silberman, Program Director of the IBM Center for Advanced Studies and ACM Council Member, Jane Bourne, and Steve Bourne, Former ACM President

Gabby Silberman and ACM Vice President Stu Feldman

Calvin C. (Kelly) Gotlieb, Awards Committee Co-Chair

Jim Horning, Awards Committee Co-Chair

Richard Gabriel, winner of the ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award

Robert Schapire and Yoav Freund, winners of the Paris Kanellakis Award, flanked by John White and Dave Patterson

Winners of the Software System Award, sponsored by IBM: Shaowen Su, Thomas Y. C. Woo Simon S. Lam, and Raghuram Bindignavle, flanked by John White and Dave Patterson, with Gabby Silberman (center)

Rick Snodgrass, winner of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award, with John White and Dave Patterson

E.G. Coffman, Jr., winner of the Distinguished Service Award

Jennifer Rexford (right), winner of the Grace Murray Hopper Award, with Natasha Haase

Alan Eustace, Google's Vice President of Research and Systems Engineering, and Google Co-Founder Larry Page join Jennifer Rexford on stage. Google provided funding for this year's Grace Murray Hopper Award.

Boaz Barak, winner of the Doctoral Dissertation Award, and wife Ravit

2004 ACM Fellows flanked by Dave Patterson and John White: Andrew A. Chien, Mark D. Hill, Joel S. Emer, Per-Åke (Paul) Larson, Allan J. Gottlieb, Peter Lee, Yannis Ioannidis, Paul Mockapetris, Richard E. Schantz, and David S. Wise (enlarge)

Student Research Competition Grand Finals winners (front row): Kamil Wnuk, Tao Xie, Kulesh Shammugasundaran, Spiros Xanthos, Eric Bodden, and Jane Tougas. Back row: John White, Ann Sobel (competition coordinator), Mark Lewin of Microsoft (SRC sponsor), and Dave Patterson.


ACM Events Honor Computing's Top Achievers

Turing Winners Wow West Coast

USACM Reassured by Grokster Ruling

Klawe, Gates Agree on Need for Academic/Industry Collaboration

Student Research Competition Grand Finals Results

Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining Conference to Study Complex World of Data

Curriculum Guidelines Chart Course for Future Computer Engineers

Publications Roundup


Call for Nominations for ACM General Election

ACM Seeks Nominations for Next Year's Awards

IT Curriculum Committee Seeks Input on Guidelines

Turing Lecture to Be Hosted by SIGCOMM 2005 Conference

Creator of DNS Protocol for Internet Names Receives SIGCOMM Award

University of Kansas Wins ACM Student Chapter Excellence Award for Outstanding Activities

Welcome New ACM Chapters

eLearn Magazine Adds Features, Accessibility

Next Member-Get-A-Member Drive Slated for Fall; Student Transition Rate for New Graduates

Computing Reviews Seeks Writers to Review Books, Papers


More Computer Classes Urged for Kids, July 4, 2005

Computer Science Teachers Association head Chris Stephenson points to critical need in US for students with advanced computer skills. This article appeared in more than 1200 prominent local newspapers.

More ACM in the News

Last Updated: September 28, 2005 by Chris Switzer
©2003 - 2005 Association for Computing Machinery. All rights reserved. ACM Privacy Policy.