Attention: You are viewing archived content. The information may be outdated and links may no longer work.
10/04/2008 - The 2008 Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing conference was held in Keystone, Colorado from October 1-4. Thirteen undergraduate and graduate women and two representatives from the Department of Computer Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin were able to attend the event thanks to corporate sponsors Lockheed Martin and Yahoo! and UTCS Faculty sponsors James C. Browne and Michael H. Walfish. Read More
09/22/2008 - The University of Texas at Austin Department of Computer Sciences (UTCS) Friends of Computer Sciences (FoCS) 2008 Career Brunch was held in conjunction with the College of Natural Sciences (CNS) Career Expo on September 22, 2008 at the Frank Erwin Center. Read More
04/14/2008 - From - The Qcue team plans to take on the big players in the secondary ticket sales market, such as Ticketmaster's TicketsNow and eBay's StubHub. Read More
Dr. Peter Stone has been awarded a 2008 Guggenheim Fellowship
04/08/2008 - AUSTIN, Texas — Peter Stone, associate professor of computer sciences at The University of Texas at Austin, has been awarded a 2008 Guggenheim Fellowship for his work on teams of mobile robots. Read More
03/26/2008 - Innovative program connects minority computer science students at tier-one universities to prepare them for future success Read More
03/04/2008 - The Department of Computer Sciences (CS) recognized scholarship donors, Friends of Computer Sciences (FoCS) members, and scholarship recipients with a Scholarship Luncheon at the Alumni Center on February 14, 2008. Read More
03/03/2008 - Scientists map the evolutionary relationships for all life on the planet Read More
02/25/2008 - The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) today announced the winners of its second round of Academic Alliance Seed Fund awards. The Academic Alliance Seed Fund was established in 2007 to provide members of NCWIT’s Academic Alliance with startup funds (up to $15,000 per project) to develop and implement projects for recruiting and retaining women in computing and information technology. Funding for the Seed Fund is provided by Microsoft Research. Read More
02/20/2008 - The University of Texas at Austin, the College of Natural Sciences and the Department of Computer Sciences hosted Bill Gates/Microsoft Corporation on founder Bill Gates' tour of five nationally-recognized universities. Mr. Gates delivered his lecture entitled Bill Gates Unplugged: "On Software, Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Giving Back". Read More
02/04/2008 - ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named Edmund M. Clarke, E. Allen Emerson, and Joseph Sifakis the winners of the 2007 A.M. Turing Award, widely considered the most prestigious award in computing, for their original and continuing research in a quality assurance process known as Model Checking. Read More
01/04/2008 - The Computing Research Association (CRA) recognized three UTCS senior undergraduate students for their demonstrated excellence of computing research ability, academic record and service to the community. Franzi Roesner is a finalist and Gilbert Bernstein and Stephen Kent were given honorable mentions in the 2008 CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Award competition. Read More
Subscribe to News