Home CS439



CS439: Principles of Computer Systems

Dr. Alison N. Norman

Schedule for Spring 2019

This schedule, and the links contained in it, are subject to change during the semester. Exam dates, however, are final.

Reading assignments are generally from one of the required textbooks:

Readings from additional sources are linked from the schedule. All reading assignments are required and are expected to be completed before class on the schedule day.


 Date

 

Topic

Assignment
(Readings should be completed before class)


Wed Jan 23 Introduction & Themes Reading: B&O: Ch 1
Thu-Fri Jan 24-25 Stop by to meet Alison
Sign up here (link active soon!)
Problem Set 0 due Friday 11:59p
(Electronic Submission through Canvas)

Mon Jan 28 History of Operating Systems
and Dual Mode Execution
Reading: B&O: 8-8.1
Wed Jan 30 Processes
9a drawings
11a drawings
Reading: B&O: 8.2-8.8
Project 0 available
Fri Feb 1 Problem Set 1 due in section

Mon Feb 4 CPU Scheduling Reading: OSTEP: CPU Scheduling
and The Multi-Level Feedback Queue
Project 0 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)
Wed Feb 6 Threads and Too Much Milk!
9a Threads and the Address Space In-Class Drawing
11a Threads and the Address Space In-Class Drawing
Reading: B&O: 12.3-12.4
MH: 4.2
Fri Feb 8 Problem Set 2 due in section

Mon Feb 11 Locks and Semaphores Reading: OSTEP: Locks (skip 28.8-28.11)
B&O: 12.5-12.5.3
Project 1 available
Wed Feb 13 Deadlock and Monitors
9a Producers and Consumers
11a Producers and Consumers
Reading: OSTEP: Common Concurrency Problems, pages 1-11 (stop at "Deadlock Avoidance via Scheduling")
OSTEP: Monitors
Fri Feb 15 Problem Set 3 due in section
Project 0 due
(Code at 5:59p, Design Doc at 11:59p)

Mon Feb 18 More Synchronization
Readers/Writers, 9a class
Readers/Writers, 11a class
B&0: 12.5.4, 12.6-12.8
Reading: MH: Chapter 5
Project 1 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)
Wed Feb 20 The Importance of Safety
Typed Pemberley Solution
9a Pemberley Solution
11a Pemberley Solution (food synch in monitor is incomplete)
For safety:
  1. Read the Therac-25 paper, following these tips.
    If you are off-campus, this link through the UT libraries Web proxy may be useful.
  2. While you are reading, view these two helpful graphics, which nicely illustrate
    linear accelerators and problems that they have caused.
  3. Read this New York Times article and at least the first two pages of this one
    (make sure you see the pictures).
Fri Feb 22 Problem Set 4 due in section

Mon Feb 25 Synchronization Review
and Exam Logistics

Wed Feb 27 Exam 1
7p-9p in FAC 21
Fri Mar 1 No Discussion Sections Project 1 due
(Code at 5:59p, Design Doc at 11:59p)

Project 2 available

Mon Mar 4 Memory: Overview
9a In-class Examples
11a In-class Examples
Reading: OSTEP: Address Spaces and
Mechanism: Address Translation
Wed Mar 6 Virtual Memory: Mechanisms
9a In-class Examples
11a In-class Examples
Reading: B&O 9.3-9.6
Project 2 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)
Fri Mar 8 Problem Set 5 due in section

Mon Mar 11 Virtual Memory: Policies
9a In-class Examples
11a In-class Examples
Reading: OSTEP: Swapping: Policies
Project 2 Stack Check Due
Wed Mar 13 Virtual Memory: More Policies Project 3 available
Fri Mar 15 Problem Set 6 due in section

Spring Break!

Mon Mar 25 Heap Memory Management
Reading: B&O: 9.9-9.12
Wed Mar 27 I/O and Disks
Reading: B&0: 6.1.2-end of 6.2
Fri Mar 29 Problem Set 7 due in section
Project 2 due
(Code at 5:59p, Design Doc at 11:59p)


Mon Apr 1 File System Fundamentals OSTEP: Files and Directories
Project 2 Design Interviews begin
Wed Apr 3 File System Design
Reading: OSTEP: File System Implementation
and Locality and The Fast File System
Project 3 group registration due (in Canvas)
Fri Apr 5 Problem Set 8 due in section
Project 3 Data Structures Due at 11:59p

Mon Apr 8 File System Consistency Reading: OSTEP: Crash Consistency: FSCK and Journaling
Basic RAID Notions
Wed Apr 10 Exam 2
7p-9p in FAC 21
Fri Apr 12 No Discussion Sections

Mon Apr 15 Networks and Their Abstractions Reading: B&O: Ch 11-11.4
Wed Apr 17 Parallel Computing Reading: OSTEP: Multiprocessor Scheduling
Fri Apr 19 Problem Set 9 due in section
Project 3 due
(Code at 5:59p, Design Doc at 11:59p)

Project 4 available

Mon Apr 22 Distributed Computing
Reading: Distributed Systems for Fun and Profit, by Mikito Takada, Chapter 2 and Chapter 3
Project 4 group registration due (in Canvas) 11:59p
Wed Apr 24 Other File Systems Reading: NFS
The Google File System
Fri Apr 26 Problem Set 10 due in section

Mon Apr 29 Deadlock Revisited Reading: Deadlock Notes
from Dr. John T. Bell at University of Illinois, Chicago
Wed May 1 The Security Mindset Reading: MH: Chapter 11
Fri May 3 Problem Set 11 due in section

Mon May 6 Putting It All Together
Wed May 8 Something Different in GDC 6.302 (Come to class!)
Fri May 10 No discussion sections
Project 4 due
(Code at 5:59p, Design Doc at 11:59p)

No slip days!

Final Exam at the time and location scheduled by the registrar
NOT at the time given on the registrar's tentative schedule, but at a uniform time with my other sections of CS439. The registrar typically publishes the final exam schedule in early April.

The exam may be as late as Tuesday, May 21st.