CRA-W logo CRA-W logo

CRA-W/CDC Programming Languages Summer School
May 9 - 11, 2007
The University of Texas at Austin

Final Schedule

Travel support to FCRC: Summer school participants are eligible for SIGPLAN support to attend FCRC.

We proudly announce the CRA-W/CDC Programming Languages Summer School. This even will be attended by approximately 40 women and under-represented minority graduate students and early-career faculty with research interests in programming languages. Through technical panel sessions with academic and industry leaders, as well as other informal activities, the summer school will provide mentoring for these students and faculty as they get started with their careers.

Students will be reimbursed for reasonable travel expenses. There is no charge for the summer school. Anyone may apply to the summer school, but first priority will be given to women and under-represented minority applicants. Applications were due on March 22.

Our effort is inspired and modeled on last year's well received Computer Architecture Summer School held at Princeton, also sponsored by CRA-W and CDC ( CRA-W and CDC plan additional area specific workshops with a technical focus.

The summer school will be divided into panels. Each panel will cover topics, such as future directions in programming languages, getting started in PL design, analysis, and implementation research, what every PL researcher needs to know about architecture, career paths, grant and fellowship applications, and communication skills. Each speaker will give a brief presentation on the panel topic, and then all speakers will answer student questions and engage students in discussion.

This summer school is being organized by Kathryn McKinley and Daniel A. Jiménez.

Speakers & Panelests

Doug Burger, UT Austin Daniel Jimenez, UT San Antonio     Barbara Ryder, Rutgers
Cristina Cifuentes, Sun Calvin Lin, UT Austin Vivek Sarkar, IBM
William Cook, UT Austin     Kathryn McKinley, UT Austin Mary Lou Soffa, UVA
Mary Hall, ISI/USC Ana Milanova, RPI Guy Steele, Sun
Kim Hazelwood, UVA Keshav Pingali, UT Austin Joseph Urban, NSF
Lizy John, UT Austin Lori Pollock, U. Delaware Stephanie Weirich, U. Penn

Co-Sponsored by
SIGPLAN logo SUN logo IBM logo