Welcome to the Neural Networks Research Group web site.

The group is directed by Prof. Risto Miikkulainen and is located at the Department of Computer Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin.


Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award

Risto is the recipient of the 2020 IEEE CIS Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award that "recognizes significant contributions to early concepts and sustained developments in the field of evolutionary computation." It is given by the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society, i.e. the part of IEEE that focuses on Neural Networks, Fuzzy Systems, and Evolutionary Computation (i.e., modern AI). The award will be given at one of the IEEE conferences in 2020, most likely World Congress on Computational Intelligence (WCCI) in July 2020.

Previous Spotlights