Visions of Computing Lecture Series in ACES 2.302

Contact Name: 
Jenna Whitney
Nov 9, 2006 4:30pm - 5:45pm

Type of Talk: Visions of Computing Lecture Series
and Reception

Speaker Names: Doug Burger/Associate Professor Inde

rjit S. Dhillon/Associate Professor Robert Boyer/Professor Matt Kaufmann/

Senior Research Scientist J Strother Moore/Professor and Chair


ker Affiliations: UTCS

Date: Thursday November 9 2006


rt Time: 4:30 p.m.- 5:45 p.m.

Location: ACES 2.302

Host: U


Talk Title: Visions of Computing Lecture Series and Reception
The Visions of Computing Lecture Series has been created by the Depar

tment of Computer Sciences to highlight the excellence of its faculty and r

ecognize their accomplishments. Its purpose is to provide public education

about computer science and to enhance the public appreciation of the statu

re of this department and its faculty.

1. Doug Burger wo

n the 2006 ACM Maurice Wilkes Award. Citation:
For contributions to spa

tially distributed processor and
memory systems architecture.



br>2. Inderjit Dhillon (with his coauthor Beresford Parlett) won the SIAM
Activity Group on Linear Algebra (SIAG/LA) Prize for the best paper on lin

ear algebra in the past three years for their paper Orthogonal eigenvecto

rs and relative gaps. Citation: the paper contains a beautiful analysis and
exposition of how to compute orthogonal eigenvectors of symmetric tridiago

nal matrices.


3. Robert Boyer J Strother Moore and Matt Kaufmann wo

n the 2005 ACM Software System Award for The Boyer-Moore Theorem Prover. Ci

tation: For pioneering and engineering a most effective theorem prover (na

med the Boyer-Moore Theorem Prover) as a formal methods tool for verifying

safety-critical hardware and software.

Speaker Bios:
Doug Bur

ger is an Associate Professor of Computer Sciences at The University of Tex

as at Austin. He is known for his work in computer architecture including

EDGE instruction sets Non-Uniform Cache Architectures (NUCA caches) and t

he SimpleScalar simulation tools. He co-leads the TRIPS project at UT-Austi

n which has developed a full silicon prototype of an advanced microprocess

or architecture. He received an NSF CAREER Award in 2000 a Sloan Foundatio

n Fellowship in 2002 the President''s Associates Teaching Excellence Award
in 2003 and the ACM Maurice Wilkes Award in 2006. He received his Ph.D. i

n Computer Sciences from The University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1998. For m

ore about him please see his web page


Inderjit Dhillon is an Associate Professor of Computer Sciences a

t The University of Texas at Austin. His main research interests are in num

erical analysis data mining and machine learning. He is best known for his
work on computational algorithms in these areas in particular on eigenval

ue computations clustering co-clustering and matrix approximations. Softw

are based on his research on eigenvalue computations is now part of all sta

te-of-the-art numerical software libraries. Inderjit received an NSF Career
Award in 2001 a best paper award at the SIAM data mining conference in 20

03 a University Research Excellence Award in 2005 and the SIAG/LA Prize i

n 2006. He received his B.Tech. degree from the Indian Institute of Technol

ogy at Bombay and Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. He

is a member of the Association for Computing Machinery the Institute of El

ectrical and Electronics Engineers and the Society for Industrial and Appl

ied Mathematics. For more about him please see his web page http://www.cs

Matt Kaufmann was trained as a mathematica

l logician at the University of Wisconsin receiving his Ph.D. in mathemati

cs there in 1978 when he joined the mathematics faculty at Purdue. He joi

ned Burroughs Corp. in Austin Texas in 1984 connecting logic with functio

nal programming. From 1986 until 1995 he worked at the University of Texas
and Computational Logic Inc. on general-purpose automated reasoning in p

articular co-developing the ACL2 theorem proving system. Matt worked on to

ols for formal hardware verification at Motorola including their model che

cker for the next two years. For two years after that he worked on the Ye

ar 2000 problem at EDS developing Prolog-based program analysis tools. Fr

om August 1999 through November 2005 he worked on microprocessor verificati

on at AMD employing a combination of formal and simulation-based technique

s. Since December 2006 he has held a Senior Research Scientist position at

the University of Texas at Austin focusing on development of ACL2 with J M

oore. He received the 2005 ACM Software System Award together with Bob Bo

yer and J Moore based on his contributions to ACL2. For more about him pl

ease see his web page

S. Boyer was born in 1946 and is now 60. He graduated from King High Scho

ol in 1964 in Kingsville Texas and graduated from UT Austin in 1967 with

a B. A. in mathematics. He is most proud of the fact that all three of his
children are now ''doctors'' in law psychology and medicine respectivel

y. He''s been a UT professor on and off since about 1981. For more about

him please see his web page

J Strother Moore holds the Admiral B.R. Inman Centennial Chair in Computing
Theory at The University of Texas at Austin. He is also chair of the depar

tment. He is the author of many books and papers on automated theorem provi

ng and mechanical verification of computing systems. Along with Boyer he is
a co-author of the Boyer-Moore theorem prover and the Boyer-Moore fast str

ing searching algorithm. With Matt Kaufmann he is the co-author of the ACL2
theorem prover. Moore got his S.B. in mathematics from MIT in 1970 and his
Ph.D. in computational logic from The University of Edinburgh in 1973. Moo

re was a founder of Computational Logic Inc. and served as its chief scie

ntist for ten years. He and Bob Boyer were awarded the 1991 Current Prize i

n Automatic Theorem Proving by the American Mathematical Society. In 1999 t

hey were awarded the Herbrand Award for their work in automatic theorem pro

ving. Moore is a Fellow of the American Association for Artificial Intellig

ence. For more about him please see his web page