UTCS Colloquium: Bjarne Stroustrup/Texas A&M University C++0x: An Overview (Post-Bellevue) ACES 2.302 Monday April 7 2008 Noon

Contact Name: 
Jenna Whitney
Apr 7, 2008 12:00pm - 1:00pm

There is a signup schedule for this event (UT EID required).

br>Type of Talk: UTCS Colloquium

Speaker/Affiliation: Bjarne Strou

strup/Texas A&M University

Date/Time: Monday April 7 2008 Noon
Location: ACES 2.302

Host(s): Kathryn McKinley Keshav Pinga


Talk Title: C++0x: An Overview (Post-Bellevue)

Talk Abst

A good programming language is far more than a simple

on of features. My ideal is to provide a set of facilities
that smoothl

y work together to support design and programming
styles of a generalit

y beyond my imagination. Here I briefly outline
rules of thumb (guidel

ines principles) that are being applied in the
design of C++0x. Then

I present the state of the standards process
(we are aiming for C++09)

and give two examples of proposals
such as concepts generalized initia

lization being considered in
the ISO C++ standards committee. Since th

ere are far more
proposals than could be presented in an hour I''ll ta

ke questions.

Speaker Bio:
Bjarne Stroustrup created C++. Since

2002 he has held the
College of Engineering Chair in Computer Science a

t Texas
A&M University. Professor Stroustrup’s book The C++

Programming Language appears in at least nineteen different
languages w

orldwide. In 1995 BYTE magazine named him one
of “the twenty mos

t influential people in the computer industry in
the last twenty years.

” Dr. Stroustrup has published more than
100 academic papers. H

e grew up in the Danish city of Aarhus
where he earned a degree in com

puter science at Aarhus
University. Stroustrup conducted studies leadi

ng to his PhD at
Cambridge University in England later moving to the B

Telephone Computer Science Research Center one of the crown

wels of the AT&T System before the breakup of that corporation.
He mai

ntains affiliation with AT&T as a Fellow and has won such
honors as th

e Grace Hopper Award election to the National
Academy of Engineering

being named as an ACM and IEEE
Fellow the William Procter Prize and Dr

. Dobb’s Excellence in