Computing now permeates just about all human activity. So it isn’t surprising that you can study computing in many places at UT. If you are not sure whether you belong in the CS department or somewhere else, this page may help you.

Computer Science

The Computer Science department is located in the College of Natural Sciences. The foundation of computer science is algorithmic problem solving. Required CS courses introduce students to three core strands of the discipline: programming, theory and computer systems. Electives go beyond the core in all three areas. They also offer students the chance to study applications of the core principles. For example, we offer courses in software development, artificial intelligence, data mining, graphics, networking, computer security, cryptography, distributed systems, and computational biology.

Electrical and Computer Engineering

The ECE department is located in the College of Engineering. It offers two tracks, one in electrical engineering and one in computer engineering. The computer engineering curriculum places a stronger emphasis on hardware than does the CS curriculum. The computer engineering program is also strong in software engineering.

Management Information Systems

The MIS department is located in the McCombs School of Business. Its curriculum emphasizes solving business problems through the use of technology. Students learn business practices, functional disciplines, and computer applications.

School of Information

The iSchool's focus on front-end, human-computer interaction (HCI) complements the CS department's focus on back-end computing theory, algorithms, and systems. To provide interested students with an educational path toward mastery in both areas, we now offer a 5-year integrated program which allows highly motivated students with strong academic records to earn a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science and a Master of Science in Information Studies in only five academic years. In addition to this integrated program, the iSchool also offers an undergraduate minor (but no major), and their graduate classes are open to undergraduates by permission of the instructor.