Home CS439

CS439: Principles of Computer Systems

Dr. Alison N. Norman

Schedule for Fall 2016

This schedule, and the links contained in it, are subject to change during the semester. Exam dates, however, are final.

Reading assignments are from one of the required textbooks:

Additonal readings are linked from the schedule. All reading assignments are required and are expected to be completed before class on the schedule day.




(to be completed before class)

Wed Aug 24 Introduction & Themes Reading: B&O: Ch 1
(Yes, I know it is review!)
Fri Aug 26 No Discussion Sections Problem Set 0 due 11:59p (Electronic Submission)

Mon Aug 29 History of Operating Systems
and Dual Mode Execution
Reading: B&O: 8-8.1
Wed Aug 31 Processes Reading: B&O: 8.2-8.8
Project 0 available
Fri Sep 2 Problem Set 1 due in section
Project 0 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)

Mon Sep 5 Labor Day
Wed Sep 7 CPU Scheduling Reading: OSTEP: CPU Scheduling
Fri Sep 9 Problem Set 2 due in section

Mon Sep 12 Threads and Too Much Milk! Reading: B&O: 12.3-12.4
MH: 4.2
Wed Sep 14 Locks and Semaphores Reading: B&O: 12.5-12.8
MH: 4.3
Project 1 available
Fri Sep 16 Problem Set 3 due in section
Project 0 due 11:59pm

Mon Sep 19 Monitors
Readers/Writers, 9a lecture
Readers/Writers, 11a lecture
Reading: OSTEP: Monitors
Wed Sep 21 Deadlock, Advanced Synchronization, and the Importance of Safety
For Deadlock: OSTEP: Common Concurrency Problems, pages 1-11 (stop at "Deadlock Avoidance via Scheduling")
For Advanced Synchronization: MH: Chapter 5
For safety:
  1. Read the Therac-25 paper, following these tips.
    If you are off-campus, this link through the UT libraries Web proxy may be useful.
  2. While you are reading, view these two helpful graphics, which nicely illustrate
    linear accelerators and problems that they have caused.
  3. Read this New York Times article and at least the first two pages of this one
    (make sure you see the pictures).
Fri Sep 23 Problem Set 4 due in section
Project 1 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)

Mon Sep 26 Synchronization, Pemberley, and In-class exam review
Wed Sep 28 Exam 1
7p-9p in WEL 2.224
Fri Sep 30 No Discussion Sections Project 1 due 11:59pm
Project 2 available

Mon Oct 3 Memory: Overview Reading: OSTEP: Address Spaces and
Mechanism: Address Translation
Wed Oct 5 Virtual Memory: Mechanisms Reading: B&O 9.3-9.6
Fri Oct 7 Problem Set 5 due in section
Project 2 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)

Mon Oct 10 Virtual Memory: Policies Reading: B&O: 9.7-9.8
MH: 6.4
Project 2 Stack Check Due
Wed Oct 12 Heap Memory Management Reading: B&O: 9.9-9.12
OSTEP: Interlude: Memory API
Project 3 available
Fri Oct 14 Problem Set 6 due in section

Mon Oct 17 Garbage Collection and I/O
Mob Boss Polling
Mob Boss Interrupts and DMA
Wed Oct 19 Disks and FS Fundamentals
Reading: B&0: 6 Intro, 6.1.2-end of 6.2
OSTEP: Interlude: Files and Directories
Fri Oct 21 Problem Set 7 due in section
Project 2 due 11:59pm

Mon Oct 24 File System Design Reading: File System Implementation
MH: 8.3-8.6
OSTEP: Locality and The Fast File System
Wed Oct 26 File System Consistency Reading: OSTEP: Crash Consistency: FSCK and Journaling
Basic RAID Notions
Fri Oct 28 Problem Set 8 due in section
Project 3 group registration due (in Canvas)

Mon Oct 31 In-class exam review
Wed Nov 2 Exam 2
7p-9p in WEL 2.224
Fri Nov 4 No Discussion Sections

Mon Nov 7 Network Building Blocks Reading: B&O: Ch11
Congestion Avoidance and Control and
Saltzer and Kaashoek Ch7 (read 6, 9)
Wed Nov 9 Accessing the Network from User Code
(Sockets and RPC)
Reading: MH: 10.3
Fri Nov 11 Problem Set 9 due in section
Project 3 due 11:59pm
Project 4 available

Mon Nov 14 Parallel and Distributed Computing
Reading: Ch 7-7.4, "Concurrency Control in Database Systems",
      by Bernstein, Hadzilacos, Goodman
Wed Nov 16 Other File Systems Reading: NFS
The Google File System
Fri Nov 18 Problem Set 10 due in section
Project 4 group registration due (in Canvas) 11:59p

Mon Nov 21 Deadlock Revisited Reading: Deadlock Notes
from Dr. John T. Bell at University of Illinois, Chicago
Wed - Fri Nov 23 - Nov 25 Thanksgiving Holiday

Mon Nov 28 The Security Mindset Reading: MH: Chapter 11
Why Cryptosystems Fail
Wed Nov 30 Slack
Fri Dec 2 Problem Set 11 due in section
Project 4 due 11:59pm

Mon Dec 5 Putting It All Together

Final Exam on Friday, 12/9, at 7p in WEL 2.224