Home CS439



CS439 Principles of Computer Systems

Dr. Alison N. Norman

Schedule for Spring 2016

This schedule, and the links contained in it, are subject to change during the semester. Exam dates, however, are final.

Reading assignments are from one of the required textbooks:

Additonal readings are linked from the schedule. All reading assignments are required and are expected to be completed before class on the schedule day.


 Date

 

Topic

Assignment
(to be completed before class)


Wed Jan 20 Introduction & Themes Reading: B&O: Ch 1
(Yes, I know it is review!)
Fri Jan 22 No Discussion Sections HW0 due 11:59p (Electronic Submission)

Mon Jan 25 History of Operating Systems
and Dual Mode Execution
Reading: B&O: 8-8.1
Wed Jan 27 Processes Reading: B&O: 8.2-8.8
Project 0 available
Fri Jan 29 HW1 due in section

Mon Feb 1 CPU Scheduling Reading: OSTEP: CPU Scheduling
Wed Feb 3 Threads and Too Much Milk! Reading: B&O: 12.3-12.4
MH: 4.2
Fri Feb 5 HW2 due in section
Project 0 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)

Mon Feb 8 Locks and Semaphores Reading: B&O: 12.5-12.8
MH: 4.3
Project 1 available
Wed Feb 10 Monitors
Readers/Writers, 9a lecture
Readers/Writers, 11a lecture
Reading: OSTEP: Monitors
Fri Feb 12 HW3 due in section
Project 0 due 11:59pm

Mon Feb 15 Deadlock and Advanced Synchronization
Pemberley Solution
Reading: MH: Chapter 5
OSTEP: Common Concurrency Problems, pages 1-11 (stop at "Deadlock Avoidance via Scheduling")
Wed Feb 17 The Importance of Safety (1) Read the Therac-25 paper, following these tips.
If you are off-campus, this link through the UT libraries Web proxy may be useful.
(2) While you are reading, view these two helpful graphics, which nicely illustrate
linear accelerators and problems that they have caused.
(3) Read this New York Times article and at least the first two pages of this one
(make sure you see the pictures).
Fri Feb 19 HW4 due in section
Project 1 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)

Mon Feb 22 In-class exam review
Wed Feb 24 Exam 1
7p-9p in WEL 2.224
Fri Feb 26 No Discussion Sections Project 1 due 11:59pm
Project 2 available

Mon Feb 29 Memory: Overview Reading: OSTEP: Address Spaces and
Mechanism: Address Translation
Wed Mar 2 Virtual Memory I Reading: B&O 9.3-9.6
Fri Mar 4 HW5 due in section
Project 2 group registration due 11:59p (in Canvas)

Mon Mar 7 Virtual Memory II Reading: B&O: 9.7-9.8
MH: 6.4
Project 2 Stack Check Due
Wed Mar 9 Heap Memory Management Reading: B&O: 9.9-9.12
OSTEP: Interlude: Memory API
Project 3 available
Fri Mar 11 HW6 due in section

Spring Break

Mon Mar 21 Garbage Collection and
Virtual Memory Review

Wed Mar 23 I/O and Disks
Mob Boss Polling
Mob Boss Interrupts and DMA
Reading: B&0: 6 Intro, 6.1.2-end of 6.2
Fri Mar 25 HW7 due in section
Project 2 due 11:59pm

Mon Mar 28 Disks and File System Fundamentals:
Use, API, and Implementation
Reading: OSTEP: Interlude: Files and Directories and
File System Implementation
Wed Mar 30 File System Design and Consistency Reading: MH: 8.3-8.6
OSTEP: Locality and The Fast File System
Fri Apr 1 HW8 due in section
Project 3 group registration due (in Canvas)

Mon Apr 4 File System Consistency and
In-class exam review
Reading: OSTEP: Crash Consistency: FSCK and Journaling
Basic RAID Notions
Wed Apr 6 Exam 2
7p-9p in ART 1.102
Fri Apr 8 No Discussion Sections

Mon Apr 11 Network Building Blocks Reading: B&O: Ch11
Congestion Avoidance and Control and
Saltzer and Kaashoek Ch7 (read 6, 9)
Wed Apr 13 Accessing the Network from User Code
(Sockets and RPC)
Reading: MH: 10.3
Fri Apr 15 HW9 due in section
Project 3 due 11:59pm
Project 4 available

Mon Apr 18 Parallel and Distributed Computing
Reading: Ch 7-7.4, "Concurrency Control in Database Systems",
      by Bernstein, Hadzilacos, Goodman
Wed Apr 20 Other File Systems Reading: NFS
The Google File System
Fri Apr 22 HW10 due in section
Project 4 group registration due (in Canvas) 11:59p

Mon Apr 25 Deadlock Revisited Reading: Deadlock Notes
from Dr. John T. Bell at University of Illinois, Chicago
Wed Apr 27 The Security Mindset Reading: MH: Chapter 11
Why Cryptosystems Fail
Fri Apr 29 HW11 due in section

Mon May 2 Something Different
Wed May 4 Putting It All Together
Fri May 6 No Discussion Sections
TAs available for help and review (see Piazza for locations).
Project 4 due 11:59pm
No slip days!

Final Exam on Wednesday, 5/11, at 7p in WEL 2.224