Calvin Lin
    Professor of Computer Science
    University of Texas, Austin
Honors and Awards
Research Projects


  Honors and Awards: Teaching

  • William David Blunk Memorial Professorship, 2019-2020
  • President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award, 2015
  • Provost's Senior Teaching Fellow, 2015
  • UT Academy of Distinguished Teachers, 2013
  • Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2013
  • USA Ultimate Coach of the Year, South Central Region, 2013, 2018
  • University of Texas Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award, 2011
  • USA Ultimate Coach of the Year, South Region, 2010
  • College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award, 2003

  • Honors and Awards: Research

  • Winner 2nd Championship Value Prediction (Unlimited Category)
    "Combining Branch History and Value History For Improved Value Prediction,"
    with C. Sakhuja, A. Subramanian, P. Joshi, and A. Jain, 2019
  • 2019 HPCA Test of Time Award
    for "Dynamic Branch Prediction with Perceptrons," with D. Jiménez, Proceedings of the 7th Int'l Symposium on High Performance Computer Architecture. January, 2001. pp. 197--206.
  • Winner 2nd Cache Replacement Competition
    "Hawkeye: Leveraging Belady's Algorithm for Improved Cache Replacement,"
    with A. Jain, 2017
  • Micro Top Picks Honorable Mention
    43rd International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA), "Leveraging Belady's Algorithm for Improved Cache Replacement,"
    with A. Jain, 2016
  • Best Paper Award Finalist
    46th International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO). "Linearizing Irregular Memory Accesses for Improved Correlated Prefetching,"
    with A. Jain, 2013
  • Best Paper Award
    Eurographics Symposium on Parallel Graphics and Visualization (EPGV). "Dynamic Scheduling for Large-Scale Distributed-Memory Ray Tracing," with P. Navratil, H. Childs, and D. Fussell. May, 2012.
  • Best Paper Award
    International Symposium on Code Generation and Optimization (CGO). "Flow-Sensitive Pointer Analysis for Millions of Lines of Code," with B. Hardekopf, 2011.
  • Best Paper Award Finalist
    International Symposium on High-Performance Computer Architecture (HPCA). "A Comprehensive Approach to DRAM Power Management," with Ibrahim Hur, February 2008, pp. 305--316.
  • UT Outstanding Dissertation Award, 2009
    Ben Hardekopf (advisee)
  • Best Paper Award
    Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI). "The Ant and the Grasshopper: Fast and Accurate Pointer Analysis for Millions of Lines of Code," with Ben Hardekopf, 2007.

  • IBM Faculty Partnership Award
    2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06
  • Best Paper Award Finalist
    39th International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO). "Memory Prefetching Using Adaptive Stream Detection," with Ibrahim Hur, 2006
  • IEEE Micro Top Picks
    "Adaptive History-Based Memory Schedulers for Modern Microprocessors," with Ibrahim Hur, IEEE Micro "Top picks from Microarchitecture Conferences issue" 26(1), January/February 2006, pp. 22--29.
  • Best Paper Award
    37th International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO). 2004. "Adaptive History-Based Memory Schedulers," with Ibrahim Hur.
  • Faculty Fellow
    2000-2001, 2002-2003, 2003-2004, 2004-2005, 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2010-2011, 2011-2012
  • NSF CAREER Award

  •   Last updated: December 4, 2020