Attention: You are viewing archived content. The information may be outdated and links may no longer work.
AUSTIN, Texas — Three members in the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin that have been named to the university’s respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2013, said Steven Leslie, executive vice president and provost.
They are:
  • Calvin Lin, professor, Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences.
  • Theresa O’Halloran, associate professor, Section of Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology, College of Natural Sciences.
  • Sheldon Ekland-Olson, professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts; director, School of Human Ecology, College of Natural Sciences.

Juan Miro, professor in the School of Architecture, also received the 2013 award.

“The academy is designed to recognize tenured faculty members who have made sustained and significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level,” Leslie said. “These four new members have earned the respect of peers, students and administrators for their outstanding teaching.”

The academy was created in 1995 to recognize tenured faculty members who throughout their careers have maintained significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level.

Membership is limited to 5 percent of tenured faculty. Members remain in the academy for the duration of their time at the university.

The faculty members were named to the academy based on recommendations from an ad hoc faculty and student committee that reviewed nominations of faculty members. Deans nominate faculty members with input from others in the faculty, students and academy members from their departments.

With the 2013 class, the academy has 119 members and 17 former members. A full list of members from the College of Natural Sciences can be found here.

Academy members receive the title “Distinguished Academy Professor” and a permanent $7,000 annual academic salary increase, effective the following academic year.

A banquet is held each fall to welcome new members of the academy. The president of the university and provost attend and present new members with a certificate and bronze medallion.

The academy serves as an advisory group to the executive vice president and provost on teaching excellence and will provide institutional leadership and guidance for the distinctive undergraduate experience available in our research university environment.