Attention: You are viewing archived content. The information may be outdated and links may no longer work.

Professor David Zuckerman has been awarded a Guggenheim fellowship to conduct his research on "Randomness and Computation."

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation was established in 1925 by United States Senator Simon Guggenheim and his wife as a memorial to a son who died April 26, 1922. The Foundation offers Fellowships to further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge and creation in any of the arts, under the freest possible conditions and irrespective of race, color, or creed.

-- From the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation website

Guggenheim Fellows are appointed on the basis of distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment. The year 2004 Fellowship winners include 185 artists, scholars, and scientists selected from over 3200 applicants for awards totaling $6,912,000. Scores of Nobel Laureates, Pulitzer and other prize winners appear on the roll of past Fellows, which includes:

  • Ansel Adams
  • Aaron Copland
  • Langston Hughes
  • Henry Kissinger
  • Vladimir Nabokov
  • Isamu Noguchi
  • Linus Pauling
  • Paul Samuelson
  • Martha Graham
  • Philip Roth
  • Derek Walcott
  • James Watson
  • Eudora Welty

For More Information:

News categories: 

Add new comment