Attention: You are viewing archived content. The information may be outdated and links may no longer work.

A UTCS programming team finished second at this year's ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ACM-ICPC) regional competition. The team of Arnav Sastry, Daniel Talamas, and Jaime Rivera beat approximately 60 different teams competing in the South Central U.S region of the contest.

ACM-ICPC is an annual programming competition among universities all over the world. The contest, sponsored by IBM, hosts around 2,300 universities from over 90 countries across six continents every year.

A total of four UT teams entered the competition and all finished within the top seven. The teams solved six and seven out of nine problems. Seven was the highest number of problems solved by any team.

The UTCS teams are sponsored and organized by faculty members Etienne Vouga, Glenn Downing, and Shyamal Mitra.

The first place team from Rice University will continue onto the world finals in Thailand in 2016.

The UT students that participated in the competition were: Alex Meed, Arnav Sastry, Brady Zhou, Brian Richer, Chris Denny, Daniel Talamas, Jaime Rivera, Jesse Mao, Jon Lee, Naeem Quddus, Robert Faulk, and Veronica Gunn.