At its annual meeting today, the Austin Chamber of Commerce recognized the chair of the Department of Computer Science for his outstanding contributions toward improving the local technology sector.
​In naming Porter Economic Development Volunteer of the Year, organizers said he had been "very instrumental in helping grow our technology community" through many years' partnership.
As department chair, Porter often meets with companies and investors who are learning about Austin. Chamber members also said the Department of Computer Science at UT Austin plays an ongoing role in "continuing to build the high tech and innovation economy throughout the Austin Region." 
The volunteers recognized today are "individuals who went above and beyond in supporting the Chamber's mission both with their time and talents, and have significantly enhanced the business community's efforts to take on the biggest challenges facing businesses in Austin," according to the Chamber's website. 
"Dr. Porter and his team has been gracious to meet with numerous prospects including successful wins like the Conde Nast Digital Innovation Center, LiveOps, and Roku along with countless others that have not been made public," organizers noted.
In addition to honoring Volunteers of the Year, the Austin Chamber named Dr. Ken Shine and Dean Clay Johnston of the Dell Medical School Austinites of the Year.
Source: CNS News
News categories: