J. Tinsley Oden

Professor, Oden Institute, Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics
J. Tinsley Oden is the founding Director of the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES), which was created in January of 2003 as an expansion of the Texas Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics, also directed by Oden for over a decade. The Institute supports broad interdisciplinary research and academic programs in computational engineering and sciences, involving five colleges and 18 academic departments within UT Austin.


Research Interests: 
  • Posteriori error estimation
  • Model adaptivity
  • Multi-scale modeling, verification and validation of computer simulations
    • Uncertainty quantification and adaptive control
Current Research: 

Molecular dynamics, continuum-quantum mechanics, modeling of semi-conductor manufacturing processes, and dynamic data-driven simulation systems for control of laser treatment of cancer.

Select Publications

Oden, J. T.. 2011. An Introduction to Mathematical Modeling: A Course in Mechanics . John Wiley and Sons. New York.
Oden, J. T. and Reddy, J.N.. 2011. An Introduction to the Mathematical Theory of Finite Elements . Dover Publications. Mineola, New York.
Oden, J. T. and Demkowicz, L.F.. 2010. Applied Functional Analysis. CRC Press.
Oden, J. T.. 2006. Finite Elements of Nonlinear Continua . Dover Publications . Mineola, New York.
Oden, J. T. and Ainsworth, M.. 2000. A Posteriori Error Analysis in Finite Element Analysis . John Wiley and Sons.

Awards & Honors

2011 - SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering
2010 - Honorary Doctorate, Ohio State University
2010 - Ordinary Member of the General Council, Executive Council of the International Association of Computational Mechanics
2009 - University Cooperative Society’s 2009 Career Research Excellence Award
2009 - SIAM Distinguished Service Award
2009 - Fellow, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
2008 - Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2008 - Member, Louisiana State University Civil and Environmental Engineering Hall of Distinction
2007 - O.C. Zienkiewicz Award
2006 - Honorary Doctorate, Ecole Normale Superieure Cachan (ENSC)