Jayadev Misra

Professor Emeritus
Jayadev Misra works in the area of concurrent programming with emphasis on rigorous methods to improve the programming process. His work on the UNITY methodology, jointly with Mani Chandy, has been influential in both academia and industry, and has spawned a large number of tools and research projects. He and Mani Chandy (and, independently, Randy Bryant) pioneered the area of distributed discrete event simulation. He is currently working on a programming language, called "Orc," for concurrent orchestrations of interacting components. He is also spear-heading an effort, jointly with Tony Hoare, to automate large-scale program verification.


Research Areas:
Research Interests: 
  • Structuring of concurrent and distributed computing
    • Programming languages
    • Semantics
    • Application design
Research Labs & Affiliations: 

Orc Language Project

Select Publications

David Kitchin, Adrian Quark, William Cook, Jayadev Misra. 2009. The Orc Programming Language. Springer, LNCS 5522. 1–25.
David Kitchin, Adrian Quark, Jayadev Misra. 2010. Quicksort: Combining Concurrency, Recursion, and Mutable Data Structures. Springer. London.
Tony Hoare, Jayadev Misra. 2015, May 1. Verified software: theories, tools, experiments. Vision of a Grand Challenge project. Springer Verlag. 1-18.
K. Mani Chandy, Jayadev Misra. 1988. Parallel Program Design: A Foundation. Addison-Wesley.
K. M. Chandy, Jayadev Misra. 1979. Distributed Simulation: A case study in design and verification of distributed programs . IEEE, Vol. SE-5, No. 5. 440-452.

Awards & Honors

2018 - Member, National Academy of Engineering
2018 - Member, TAMEST (The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas)
2017 - Harry H. Goode Memorial Award, IEEE
2014 - Distinguished alumnus, I.I.T., Kanpur
2010 - Doctor Honoris Causa, Ecole Normale Superieure de Cachan, France
2010 - Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award, University of Texas
2009 - Distinguished Teaching Professor, University of Texas at Austin
1995 - ACM Fellow
1992 - IEEE Fellow