Risto Miikkulainen

Risto Miikkulainen is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Texas at Austin and AVP of Evolutionary Intelligence at Cognizant Technology Solutions. He received an M.S. in Engineering from the Helsinki University of Technology (now Aalto University) in 1986, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from UCLA in 1990. His current research focuses on methods and applications of neuroevolution, as well as neural network models of natural language processing and vision; he is an author of over 380 articles in these research areas.


Research Interests: 
  • Neuroevolution
  • Cognitive Science
  • Computational Neuroscience
Research Labs & Affiliations: 

UTCS Neural Networks Research Group

Select Publications

Risto Miikkulainen. 2019. Creative AI Through Evolutionary Computation. In Banzhaf et al. (editors), Evolution in Action---Past, Present and Future. New York: Springer. (Also arXiv:1901.03775).
Liang, J., Meyerson, E., Fink, D., Mutch, K., and Miikkulainen, R.. 2019. Evolutionary Neural AutoML for Deep Learning. Proceedings of the Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Conference.
Aguirre-Celis, N. and Miikkulainen, Risto. 2019. Quantifying the Dynamic Effects of Conceptual Combination on Word Meanings using Neural Networks. Proceedings of the 41st Annual Meeting of the Cognitive Science Society.
Harper, C. B., Johnson, A. J., Meyerson, E., Savas, T. L., and Miikkulainen, R.. 2019. Flavor-Cyber-Agriculture: Optimization of plant metabolites in an open-source control environment through surrogate modeling.. PLOS ONE. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0213918.
Stanley, K. O., Clune, J., Lehman, J., and Miikkulainen R.. 2019. Designing Neural Networks through Evolutionary Algorithms. Nature Machine Intelligence. 1:24-35.

Awards & Honors

2018 - Deployed Application Award, AAAI
2017 - Gabor Award, INNS
2017 - Outstanding Paper of the Decade Award, ISAL
2017 - Best-Paper Award in the Real-World Applications track, GECCO
2015-2017 - IEEE Computational Intelligence Society Distinguished Lecturer
2016 - IEEE Fellow
2012 - BotPrize Award
2012 - Honorable Mention Ziskind-Somerfield Research Award
2011 - Winner of the Annual Competition of Pseudo-Boolean SAT Solvers at SAT