Scott Aaronson

Texas Computer Science professor Scott Aaronson has been named as a 2019 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Fellow. ACM is the world’s largest computing society and is dedicated to advancing the field. Each year, the organization honors members that have made a significant contribution to the field of computing and information technology. 

Scott Aaronson’s research centers around theoretical computer science. The ACM is honoring Aaronson for his contributions to quantum computing and computational complexity. ACM fellows are considered to be the organization’s most prestigious member grade, comprising the top 1% of the association's members. 

Aaronson's other achievements include earning the Tomassoni-Chisesi Award, the Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship, and the Alan T. Waterman Award of the National Science Foundation. In addition to being a professor of computer science at The University of Texas at Austin, Aaronson also serves as the director for the department’s Quantum Information Center.

ACM will formally recognize its 2019 Fellows at the annual Awards Banquet, to be held in San Francisco on June 20, 2020.

News categories: