03/06/2014 - Explore UT, a campus community engagement event held each March, invites the public to experience UT. Thousands of people explored the UTCS program, discovering the fun of computer science, engaging in artificial intelligence, software programming, gaming, graphics and visualization, and chatting with academic advisers. Read More
UTCS Receives $1.2 million NSF Grant for Information Security Program
02/26/2014 - UTCS has been named the recipient of a $1.2 million grant from the NSF through the CyberCorps: Scholarship for Service program. The SFS program will support students pursuing the university’s INFOSEC Certificate. Read More
02/24/2014 - The department hosted prospective Ph.D. students at GradFest 2014, a two-day exploration of UTCS research, resources, and community. Over 30 admitted students attended panel discussions, toured labs, and met with faculty one-on-one. Current graduate students hosted the out-of-towners in their own homes for a real look at life as a UTCS grad student. Read More
University of MAD 2014
02/18/2014 - Friday, February 7 the Mobile App Development club (MAD) hosted a free, overnight bootcamp called uMAD intended to teach students the basics when it comes to developing apps for iPhones and Androids. Read More
02/18/2014 - UTCS Assistant Professor Pradeep Ravikumar is one of 126 outstanding U.S. and Canadian researchers selected by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation as recipients of the 2014 Sloan Research Fellowships. Ravikumar currently teaches Statstical Learning and Data Mining, and his main area of research interest is in statistical machine learning. Read More
02/12/2014 - The first annual University of MAD (Mobile App. Development organization) was packed to capacity this passed Friday and Saturday. The 15-hour bootcamp-style event was hosted at the University of Texas at Austin’s Bill & Melinda Gates Computer Science Complex and Dell Computer Science Hall. Read More
02/10/2014 - In order to be responsive to the continuing advances of the creative industries, the University of Texas at Austin announced today the renaming of the Game Development Program to the Game and Mobile Media Applications (GAMMA)Program, effective as of today. Read More
First Bytes Receives Freescale Foundation Grant
02/04/2014 - Freescale Foundation has chosen First Bytes Summer Camp as one of six 2013 grant recipients. Funding from the Freescale Foundation will be used to provide room and board, field trips and supplies for campers. Read More
02/01/2014 - The 2014 Friends of Computer Science (FoCS) Career Night was held on January 29 in the Atrium of the Bill and Melinda Gates Computer Science Complex and Dell Computer Science Hall. Read More
02/01/2014 - UTCS recognized scholarship recipients, scholarship donors, and Friends of Computer Science (FoCS) partners with a Scholarship Luncheon at the Alumni Center on January 29, 2014. Read More
01/17/2014 - UT researchers are building intelligent robots that can play soccer, handle weapons, help the disabled, and more. Let's meet five of them. Read More
Hack TX: The Biggest Hackathon in Texas
01/17/2014 - HackTX was put in motion in 2012 by a combination effort of Vivek Karuturi, a CS undergraduate student who co-founded Hacker Lounge, Michael Akilian, a now-graduated EE major, and members++ of the interdisciplinary Technology Entrepreneurship Society. Read More
01/15/2014 - Professor Peter Stone spoke with Joe Palca this morning on NPR's Morning Edition about taking his "passion for soccer into the lab" in a segment aptly titled "Peter Stone Can't Get Enough Of Robots Playing Soccer." Read More
01/09/2014 - Associate Professor Kristen Grauman has earned a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for her research in computer vision from President Barack Obama. Read More
01/08/2014 - Kurt Dresne, one of Professor Peter Stone's former UT Computer Science graduate student spoke with NPR's Robert Siegel recently about his thesis research on autonomous intersection management in a segment called "To Make Intersections Smarter, We Need Cars To Be Smarter, Too." Read More
01/08/2014 - Three faculty members from The University of Texas at Austin have been selected to receive Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their research careers. Read More
From the Chair: Moving In
12/20/2013 - Since our last newsletter, the UT Computer Science population has surged past 2,000 undergraduates--more than triple the enrollments when I started as chair five years ago--easily making us the largest computer science department among the nation’s top ten ranked programs. Read More
Game Changers: New Faculty
12/20/2013 - UT Computer Science is excited to welcome four new faculty members coming to campus in 2014. They all have incredibly impressive credentials and research experience, and we’re extremely grateful that they have chosen to join our family. Read More
CS Ambassador Program Expands with Move to GDC
12/20/2013 - Computer Science Ambassadors are helping students solidify UT as their top pick. “Now more than ever, UT is my first choice for college,” said one high school student after spending the day at the Gates Dell Complex. Read More
Fifth Annual Longhorn Startup Demo Day
12/11/2013 - The fifth annual Demo Day, held Dec. 5, had a packed house in the LBJ Auditorium to hear a conversation between Cuban and Bob Metcalfe, professor of innovation at the Cockrell School of Engineering and director of Longhorn Startup. RetailMeNot CEO Cotter Cunningham also took the stage, and 14 student startups made presentations. Read More
12/10/2013 - Professor David Zuckerman has been elected to be an ACM Fellow for his contributions to randomness extraction, pseudo randomness, and their role in complexity theory. Read More
12/09/2013 - Dana Ballard has been selected to receive the 2014 Distinguished Cognitive Scientist Award from the University of California, Merced. Read More
12/09/2013 - Professor Dana Ballard, and his co-author Michael Swain, have won the Helmholtz Test-of-Time award. Read More
11/25/2013 - Two of our distinguished faculty, Chandra Bajaj and Inderjit Dhillon, have been elected IEEE Fellows. Read More
11/23/2013 - Five UTCS students won the student cluster overall competition at the international SC conference for the second year in a row! Read More


Subscribe to News