04/13/2002 - Dr. Nell B. Dale, Senior Lecturer and member of the UT Department of Computer Sciences since 1975, received the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)'s prestigious Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for "changing the study of computer programming to focus on problem solving and software engineering principles, and away from language syntax." Read more
09/26/2001 - Congratulations to Nina Amenta who received an NSF CAREER Award. Nina joined the department faculty in fall 1997 after serving as a post-doc at Xerox PARC. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. Read more
08/01/2000 - Lorenzo Alvisi, Nina Amenta, Michael Dahlin, and Ana Gál were each awarded an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship. Established in 1955, Sloan fellowships provide support and recognition to outstanding young scientists who show promise of making fundamental contributions to new knowledge. Amenta and Dahlin were awarded Sloan Fellowships in 2000; Alvisi and Gál in 2001. Read more
02/28/2000 - Assistant Professor Calvin Lin has received an NSF CAREER Award. Visit Lin's homepage for more information. Read more
02/28/2000 - Congratulations to Professor Doug Burger who received an NSF CAREER Award. Read more
02/28/2000 - Professor in Computer Sciences Steve Keckler received an NSF CAREER Award. Read more
01/22/2000 - On January 22, 2000, the department honored Professor James C. Browne with a symposium on the event of his 65th birthday. He is known as an energetic teacher and researcher who has published over 225 papers spanning many topics in Computer Science and Physics. He has directly supervised 125 graduate students - 62 of whom have completed doctoral degrees under his supervision and another 63 who have completed masters degrees. Brown holds the Regents Chair in Computer Sciences and appointments as Professor of Physics and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Read more


Subscribe to Topic: Faculty