06/01/2003 - Nell B. Dale with coauthor, John Lewis, received honorable mention and a $3,000 prize for their book, Computer Sciences Illuminated published by Jones and Bartlett. These annual awards are made to UT faculty and staff members who have, in the preceding academic year, published the best books. A committee of scholars appointed by the UT Vice President for Research judges the competition. She is the only two-time winner in the competition. Read more
05/31/2003 - Two of our undergraduates, Chand John and Jerry Sun, recently received national recognition for their outstanding research potential. Chand John was among four finalists for the award and Jerry Sun was selected for honorable mention. Chand John received a B.S. in Computer Sciences with Highest Honors and a B.S. in Mathematics with Pure Math Option with Highest Honors in spring 2003. He completed an honors project, CS 379H during fall 2002. Chandrajit Bajaj was his advisor. Read more
05/03/2003 - On Friday, May 2, 2003, the sixth annual College of Natural Sciences Honors and Awards Banquet was held recognizing outstanding advising, outreach, and teaching excellence. Our department was fortunate to have Pat Horne, Stephanie Shaffer, Doug Burger, and Calvin Lin recognized for outstanding accomplishments. Read more
04/02/2003 - Our teams at the Louisiana regional programming contest came in 1st, 9th, and 18th. Congratulations! Our top team (Bevo Pivot) solved all eight problems faster than any other team (except for the coach team but that's another story). About 90 teams participated (including some coach teams). Our region includes Oklahoma, Louisiana, Texas and the Dona Ana County in New Mexico. Read more
12/31/2002 - The UTCS ACM Programming Club teams headed to Louisiana to compete in the 2002 ACM South Central USA Programming Contest on November 2nd. The three UTCS teams performed exceptionally well and placed 1st, 2nd and 3rd in this regional competition, beating the other 74 teams from Texas, Oklahoma and Louisiana. The final standings and team players: 3rd place: UT Austin team "gamma" Read more
09/27/2002 - The paper "Generating Product-Lines of Product-Families" by Don Batory, Roberto Lopez-Herrejon, and Jean-Phillipe Martin won a best paper award at ASE 2002. Read more
10/03/2001 - Congratulations to Vicki Almstrum, who has just been elected to the ACM SIGCSE (Special Interest Group on Computer Science Education) Board of Directors. In the same election, Henry Walker, several times a visitor to our department, was elected SIGCSE Chair. Read more
09/26/2001 - Congratulations to Nina Amenta who received an NSF CAREER Award. Nina joined the department faculty in fall 1997 after serving as a post-doc at Xerox PARC. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. Read more
09/18/2001 - Prof. J. Siekmann of the University of Saarbruecken , Germany writes today that "We have named one of the halls in the new AI building of the German Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) after Woody Bledsoe." Woodrow W. Bledsoe, Peter O'Donnell, Jr., Centennial Chair Emeritus in Computing Systems and Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, was internationally known for his work in automatic theorem proving and artificial intelligence. Woody passed away in 1995 after battling Lou Gehrig's disease for more than two years. Read more
08/25/2001 - Tivoli Center of Excellence in Systems Management faculty teaching grants for 2001 were awarded to the following CS Faculty: Integrated Simulation Environment for Real-time Network Monitoring (Intrusion Detection, Denial of Service) Aloysius Mok Seminar Series on Data Mining and Web Analysis Inderjit Dhillon Joydeep Ghosh Ray Mooney Lynn Stokes CS 373 Software Engineering Vicki Almstrum Read more


Subscribe to Topic: Awards & Honors